Disruptor
Disruptor Exclusives
Renaissance, Texas: Fantasy and Murder at the World's Biggest RenFaire [Post 1]
--:--
--:--

Renaissance, Texas: Fantasy and Murder at the World's Biggest RenFaire [Post 1]

George Coulam wanted to live like a renaissance man. So he bought a Texas town and made it into a fantasyland for his chainmail-wearing friends. Then reality set in. And someone got murdered.

A jouster at the Texas Renaissance Fair, Photo: Getty Images

Hello and welcome to the first post of my serialized, feature story on Disruptor, “Renaissance, Texas.” There will be nine parts in total, beginning today with my voice note introduction. In the coming days, posts will include magazine-style text passages, audio interview excerpts, and videos. It’s a new kind of storytelling exclusively for the newsletter format, and I’m excited to be starting it all out today. I’ll be back to you tomorrow with part two: “Murder at the RenFaire.”

Disruptor
Disruptor Exclusives
New stories and interviews by me, only available here in my newsletter.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
David Kushner